About Us

Established in 1974, the mission of the University of Alaska Foundation is to seek, secure and steward philanthropic support to build excellence at the University of Alaska. As a nonprofit corporation, the UA Foundation is governed by a board of directors whose members represent diverse educational, economic and community development interests across our vast state. Their contributions of time, talent and treasure are invaluable, as is the generosity of our donors, whose support benefits UA campuses and students throughout the state.


Board of Directors


Alex Slivka, Chair
Municipality of Anchorage

Cynthia Cartledge, Vice Chair
Jermain, Dunnagan & Owens, P.C.

Cary Keller, MD, Secretary
Orthopedics & Sportsmedicine Fairbanks

Laura Bruce, Treasurer
APCM Wealth Management for Individuals



Susan Anderson
The CIRI Foundation

Leo Bustad, MD

Michael Buzinski
Buzzbizz Creative

Heather Cavanaugh
Alaska Communications

Julee Farley
Alaska Permanent Capital Management

Latosha Frye
Northrim Bank

Todd Fletcher
Wells Fargo Advisors

Linda Hulbert
New York Life Insurance Company

Scott Jepsen

Jim Kostka
Alaskan Data

Stephanie Madsen
At-Sea Processors Association

Meg Nordale
Ghemm Company

John Pugh
Chancellor Emeritus, University of Alaska Southeast

Marilyn Romano
Alaska Airlines

Aleesha Towns-Bain
BBNC Education Foundation


Ex-Officio Members

Richard Caulfield
Chancellor, University of Alaska Southeast

Jo Heckman
Regent, University of Alaska

Mary K. Hughes
Regent, University of Alaska

Jim Johnsen
President, University of Alaska

Cathy Sandeen
Chancellor, University of Alaska Anchorage

Daniel White
Chancellor, University of Alaska Fairbanks


Emeritus Members

Thomas B. Jensen, Jr.

Arliss Sturgulewski